Sunday, March 31, 2013

Friday, March 29, 2013

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Thursday, March 21, 2013

The Temptress' Chest: Isle of the Amazons script cover page

"The Temptress' Chest: Isle of the Amazons" action/adventure pilot in shareable form.



Monday, March 18, 2013

Beat a Red Light Ticket

Here are a few ideas for a possible defense against a red light photo ticket. I am not a lawyer, but these may help.

Again, I am not a lawyer, and these may not help at all. Best of luck and drive safely.

Thursday, March 14, 2013

David August Throwback as Prospero

Backstage in costume for Prospero in The Tempest. Had the nickname "Pimp-Daddy Prospero." In breast pocket can see edge of imitation blu-blocker sunglasses that when put on made me invisible. Out of frame to my right: my magical staff. #tbt #throwbackthursday



Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Speed Matters Even More

I wrote some time ago that the speed a web page loads matters, and now it matters even more as people use the Internet from phones, tablets and other devices that don't always have true high-speed access, nor do users have patience when on the go. Here are some numbers to underscore the need for speed:

Adding half a second to a search results page can decrease traffic and ad revenues by 20 percent, according to a Google study. The same article reports Amazon found that every additional 100 milliseconds of load time decreased sales by 1 percent. Users expect pages to load in two seconds - and after three seconds, up to 40 percent will simply leave

(from Improving UX Through Front-End Performance). As I've said to classes and clients: no one has ever said "this website loads too fast," so hurry it up.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Sunday, March 10, 2013

David August Menacing Morning

Good morning (he says threateningly for no apparent reason)



Friday, March 8, 2013

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Sunday, March 3, 2013

Saturday, March 2, 2013

Quality News More Rare Than Fast News

In the last ten years we've redefined breaking news from "happened yesterday" to "happened less than fifteen seconds ago." The next order of magnitude will be prohibitively expensive and (most of the time) not particularly useful. Better, I think, to hustle in the other direction and figure out how to benefit from well-understood truth instead of fast and fresh rumor

(from Real-Time News is Neither).